The Democratic Republic of the Congo                         



The Democratic republic of the Congo is located in the middle of Africa with one cost line
   The Congo is the Earth's second largest river by volume and has the world's second largest rain forest (18% of the planet's remaining tropical rain forest). The Congo Basin represents 70% of the African continent's plant cover and makes up a large portion of Africa's biodiversity with over 600 tree species and 10 000 animal species. Six nations -- Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Republic of Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon -- share the 1.5 million square mile Congo basin.

The Congo is one of the world's most threatened ecosystems. Commercial logging, clearing for subsistence agriculture, and widespread civil strife has devastated forests, displaced forest dwellers, and resulted in the expansion of the "bush meat" trade. Since the 1980s, Africa has had the highest deforestation rates of any region on the globe.
BY Carl Marant