The Democratic Republic of the Congo                         


The Democratic republic of Congo Flag

President - Joseph Kabila (above)
Prime Minster -
Adolphe Muzito
The Democratic Republic of the Congo is governed under the constitution of 2006. The president, who is the head of state, is popularly elected and may serve two five-year terms. There is a bicameral legislature. The National Assembly has 500 members, who serve five-year terms; the majority (439) of the members are elected proportionally, the rest directly. The prime minister is chosen from the party or coalition that controls the assembly.
capital is Kinshasa
independence from Belgium on june 30 1960 and it is a national holiday